Kitchen Blog – Fried Lamb and Lamb Broth

Coming from a family where all (known) men cook as time demands; today I pitched myself into the most mysterious place at home – Kitchen. With my parents vacationing at our nativity (Kerala) for several weeks, I saved myself from being cast away more than Tom Hanks in Cast Away (Year 2000).

A little more before we get to the lamb. Below are 2 pictures that my father sent from Kerala today. Number 1 is about a wild elephant who stepped into a farm to pluck jackfruits yesterday. Number 2 is about my non-wild mother who stepped into another farm (uncle’s) to pluck some mulberry fruits (her favorite).

Newspaper edit: Wild elephant plucking Jackfruit (Courtesy: Malayala Manorama). Image used for no profits.
Newspaper edit: Wild elephant plucking Jackfruit (Courtesy: Malayala Manorama). Image used for no profits.
Mom plucking Mulberry fruits at Uncle's farm in Kerala.
Mom plucking Mulberry fruits at Uncle’s farm in Kerala.

Lamb broth without meat and garnishes has been one of my favorites since childhood. Though I have cooked meat earlier; today was my debut on that broth part of the story done without using my mom’s favorite cookware (because none have insurance policies, nor Obamacare). 

Boiling lamb broth
Boiling lamb broth

Then came the part of marinating the lamb ribs. Here is where my kitchen goes into a mystery. Spoons, forks, lids etc. vanish in a moment. The spoon I used to prepare the spices & other mix; is not yet found (that is 3 hours after I finished this meal). The lids for turmeric powder & black pepper; were found after a good search. This runs me crazy. Well, below are the outputs. As I don’t blog much about what I generally do; I was caught unaware by myself when it came to remembering the recipe which I think is a sort of an etiquette while sharing meal preparations. So please excuse me for bad memory, recipe was unplanned and quite instant. Not that great either that’s worthy of being discussed.

A high torque slow-moving mountain-climber diesel truck – That’s me going over lamb. The bones serve as my natural chewing gum, and the meat is which I love the most! So below are a few snaps; and yeah I did clap twice for myself apart from 3 cheers for what I put myself through.

Lamb ribs for a one-man army.
Lamb ribs for a one-man army.
Lamb ribs for a one-man army.
Lamb ribs for a one-man army.

These glimpses will serve as the Memorandum Of Trust, between me and a few ones being hosted here next weekend. With the trials and rehearsals done, it looks like a smooth ride to me!

Whats up?!

